Ahead of Schedule

So here it is, not even noon and I’ve gotten my pumpkins carved & seeds are baked!  YUM!  I took advantage of baby’s first nap.  I had no idea if it would be 20 minutes or an hour, but I went ahead and started prep and now all is done and I even have time to blog!  GOOD BABY!halloween-2016-kolby-jackolanterns-silly-face
I even packed up all the birthday decorations – something I forgot to mention on my to-do list on yesterday’s blog.
Halloween buckets are out and ready for the kids to collect candy and the big candy bowl is ready to give away lots of candy.
Now the only thing left on my list is to reimagine leftover chicken thigh meat into a new dinner.
I grew up with a meal we called “shikin flickin” (totally guessing on the spelling as it was only ever said, not written).  Basically, it’s leftover ham (like from a spiral ham) diced up and heated with diced onions until all is caramelized.  Then toss in some egg noodles and season to taste.  It’s simple and really yummy.
I thought about a chicken version of this for tonight.  And then to finish, freshly grated parmesan on top.  Doesn’t that sound tasty?  I hope the family likes it.  By all rights we should be only have protein and veggies for dinner seeming all the candy that will be had, but alas I’m using what I’ve got and we’re on a tight budget currently, so it is what it is.
The scale went down 2 lbs from my increase over the weekend because of the pizza, down .6 of a pound from last Tuesday’s weigh-in (didn’t weigh in Monday).  My project will start 2 weeks from tomorrow, so I need to get used to Tuesday weigh-ins anyway.  I’m excited for my project to officially begin!

About gwenacious

Always a person in progress. On a mission of self-improvement and exploring my artistic side.
This entry was posted in journal, Musings, Personal, Project, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

