Weigh-in Week 6

Loss: – 4.2 lbs
Total Loss:  6.8 lbshappy scale

It took me 2 weeks to gain 4.2 pounds and just 5 days to lose them again.  I am not oblivious to the fact that usually it’s the other way around.

I am not going to talk (or write) in terms of the future anymore (e.g. “I’m never going to see the 300’s ever again!”) because it always seem to bite me in the ass.  I need to stay in the present and stop making claims or even certain hopes for my future… it just hasn’t served me well so I should quit that cold turkey.

The miles challenge I gave myself (35 miles to complete this month) has sparked motivation back in me that I was lacking and I love how much enthusiasm and drive I have to get in a walk whenever I can, when before it was all too easy to think ugh, I don’t feel like it or I don’t want to.

Tracking miles walked is much more satisfying than waiting around for pounds dropped.

There are potato chips in my house for the first time in 5 weeks and I didn’t eat any yesterday.  I didn’t feel like them… wow, that was simple.

I’m trying to cut down my intake of pasta to just once a week.  It is really becoming more obvious to me that my body slows down and doesn’t run as efficiently when I’ve eaten pasta… especially since I have a harder time keeping the portion small.

I am limiting white (or any other type of) bread to once a week or not at all.

My “happy carbs” are red potatoes, brown rice & oats (and shirataki noodles when I can find them).

And since I’ve gone into talking about food…

I haven’t really ever shared what I eat in a day… sure, I mention a meal here and there and sometimes (but rarely) share a picture, but really, I don’t think I’ve ever outlined an example of what it is I eat for a whole day.
For those wondering, here’s a sampling of a couple days from this past week:

Day 1:
B:  3 fried egg whites (with Pam butter spray), oatmeal (1/8 cup steel cut oats, ¼ cup regular oats, water, 1 packet Stevia, 1 packet monk fruit sweetener, ½ tsp cinnamon) – sometimes with fresh strawberries & blueberries on top
S:  2 hard-boiled egg whites & a green drink (kale, collard greens, carrots, apple, kiwi)
L:  3-4 oz wild caught salmon steak – pan fried w/ Pam spray, brown rice & asparagus
S:  protein bar (“Pure Protein” – Chocolate Peanut Butter)
S:  popcorn (homemade, popped with a mix of unsalted butter & EVOO, light salt)
D: seasoned oat flour (no salt) & Panko coated skinless boneless chicken breast (I eat about ½ a breast) pan cooked with extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), steamed broccoli (about 1 ½ cups of crowns) w/butter & oyster sauce, roasted diced potatoes (baked with EVOO & spices) – the equivalent of 1 medium potato
S: 1 banana

Day 2:
B: 3 fried egg whites & one large banana
S: 2 hard-boiled egg whites & a coffee (which involves Stevia, monk fruit sweetener & 3 kinds of Coffeemate… bad!)
L: Leftover protein from previous dinner – chicken and some red potatoes & asparagus
S: 1 oz pistachios & a green drink
S: 1 banana oat chocolate chip muffin (homemade)
D:  3-4 oz Flank steak (cooked in butter), 1 small to medium baked red potato and celery & romaine salad (with homemade balsamic dressing, light on the EVOO)
S: protein bar

Yes, I cook things in butter.  I’d rather eat a small portion of something rich than a whole plate of something light & tasteless.

Yes, that’s 4 snacks during the day – sometimes there are so many hours between lunch and dinner seeming dinner doesn’t happen until about 6:45-7pm due to when my hubby comes home, that I’d be way too starving at dinner if I didn’t snack before it.  As for the night snack after dinner, that’s actually something I’m doing less and less these days because I just don’t need it.

No, I don’t drink coffee everyday… I know this shocks people.

I know some will cringe at all the egg whites going on, but I really don’t mind them and when it comes to the hard-boiled eggs, I prefer the whites only anyway (unless I’m making egg salad, then you NEED the yolk!)  If I feel bored with just eating the whites, I will turn it into egg salad and scoop it up with a serving (15 crackers) of Triscuit Thins… yum!

I try to keep all my meals on the smaller side and snacks as well.  I find my body works best and most efficiently on small, more frequent meals.
You may have noticed that almost every meal/snack starts with a protein.  Usually only my 2nd afternoon snack is the one that is sometimes the exception.  I do this to help regulate my blood sugar throughout the day.  Again, this is something (through years of experimentation) that I have figured out my body appreciates.

This past Saturday was a sort of experiment… I was seeing if I could have a few indulgences (in moderation) and not have it affect my weight negatively.  That day my foods included a BLT (on white bread with mayo), 2 hotdogs on a white bun (a hamburger bun because that’s what we had), Lay’s light salt potato chips, and a ½ pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Peppermint Crunch (my new favorite!)  I got exercise & drank lots of water per usual & all other meals/snacks were like the ones above, and the next day, not an ounce heavier.  I consider this a win.  No, it shouldn’t happen every day, but it’s nice to know I can handle those items and not completely derail my plan… especially if I only had *one* of those indulgences during the course of a day.

It feels like I’m finally getting back to being able to control myself and utilize this moderation thing in reality instead of just theory.

Well, this all was an unexpected path for today’s blog.  I’ll shut up now.

About gwenacious

Always a person in progress. On a mission of self-improvement and exploring my artistic side.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

