The Missing Ingredient for Weight Loss: Sleep – A review of Natrol’s Melatonin 5mg Fast Dissolve Tablets

So my weight hadn’t budged in days… not even a tenth of a pound, but then I got a combined 8 hours of sleep last night (for the first time in a while) and this morning I registered a 3 lb loss.  Ah of course!  SLEEP!  You’d think after my extensive experience with sleep deprivation because of my non-sleeper baby it would have occurred to me that sleep is the end-all, be-all factor that is needed for mental and physical well-being.  And of course, study after study concludes that sleep is an integral piece to weight loss.  Duh.
But sleep has been an issue for me even before my baby was born (the last 3 months of pregnancy I could only sleep for 3 consecutive hours at a time… max) and have lasted until now.

A little history about me, I used to be a decent sleeper.  There were the occasional times I had caffeine too late in the day and couldn’t get to sleep (my bad) or the nights my brain decides to think of EVERY LITTLE THING and annoyingly keeps me awake, but other than that, I could sleep pretty decently.
Well thanks to my baby girl, she’s taught me to sleep horribly… takes hours to go to sleep and when she wakes me up in the middle of the night (several times), I now have a hard time getting back to sleep.
It took me until she was over a year old to no longer have to nap every day when she napped because I was always so exhausted!

Well now her sleep is a little better (though I wish the 1-3 call-outs would go away), I have more opportunity to sleep, yet I’m missing it.

Enter Natrol’s Melatonin 5mg Fast Dissolve tablets.  Melatonin Sleep AidThis was a recommendation from my sister who has to give them to her 7 year old daughter because of her inability to get to sleep.
Last night was my 2nd time using them and wow – worked like a charm.  Not only did I fall asleep so fast I can barely remember (LOVE when that happens), after each time I was woken up by baby (twice) I was actually able to go right back to sleep with little tossing and turning.  AMAZING.
The first night wasn’t as successful and I think I know why.  So I will give this little bit of helpful information to anyone interested in trying this product:
It warns to take it 20 minutes prior to bedtime and I did this the first night… at least I thought I was within 20 minutes.  But I was downstairs still checking stuff on my laptop and by the time I got upstairs, brushed my teeth and my hubby finally stopped trying to talk to me, I was finally in bed just after the 20 minute mark.  I think this screwed up the effectiveness.  I could feel it working and fell sleepy, but I just wasn’t making it to bed on time so the peak of effectiveness felt like it went past.  I did, however get to sleep much sooner than usual still… so that was helpful.
So I would suggest you keep this product on your night side table.  Take it *right before* you’re about to get into bed.  I take one tablet (which does NOT fast dissolve… I have to chew up that sucker or it’d be in my mouth forever, but at least the strawberry flavor is pleasant), then brush my teeth and then directly to bed.
This is what I did last night and omg it worked FABULOUSLY!  I hardly remember even trying to fall asleep – that’s how well it worked.
I’m so excited to have this how because the Advil PM I had been taking was a hit-or-miss on effectiveness and over time could negatively affect my stomach and kidneys.
So from this mom on a mission, I give this product 4.5 out of 5 handprints.
Handprint rating 4.5

About gwenacious

Always a person in progress. On a mission of self-improvement and exploring my artistic side.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Missing Ingredient for Weight Loss: Sleep – A review of Natrol’s Melatonin 5mg Fast Dissolve Tablets

  1. Hum, this is interesting. I hope taking this will reset your sleep cycles and reteach your body to fall asleep more effectively on its own.

  2. AtomicMelanie says:

    Thank you for this review! I had heard a lot about melatonin and didn’t know if it really worked or not. I don’t really like taking the “P.M.” medicines to fall asleep because I they tend to make me feel hung over. I will have to give this a try!

Leave a Reply

