A review of Arctic Zero Frozen Desserts

At first I bought Arctic Zero Chocolate Peanut Butter frozen dessert just as an experiment to give it a try.  I’d seen a former Biggest Loser contestant mention it on her Facebook and happened to see it in my local freezer section, so why not?  Arctic Zero Frozen DessertsIt was truly awesome to see that if you eat the entire pint, it will only cost you 150 calories (and I’ve been known to put down an entire pint).  That’s amazing coming from needing to basically add another zero at the end of that number when you eat an entire pint of Ben & Jerry’s!
Upon my first sampling I basically thought it was like eating mildly flavored ice and you kind of need an ice pick to get into it until it starts melting and I decided “well I’m never buying this again”.
I’d only had about 10 tiny spoonfuls before giving up and putting it back in the freezer… not even one 36 calorie portion.
But I’m glad I didn’t toss it.
These days I’m looking at Arctic Zero in a new light.  Since my first try I have discovered that I’m not allergic to eggs like I thought previously – it was actually dairy that was the problem.  I started noticing a correlation between my intake of cheese (especially American or cheddar) and having a reaction when there were no eggs to blame.  The same happened when I’d indulge in a pint of Ben & Jerry’s… crap.

I can thank my baby for this new intolerance as she’s the reason I didn’t ingest any dairy for a year while breastfeeding her and now I can’t tolerate it myself.  Swell.
But honestly, it’s way better for me to be allergic to something that’s usually fattening as opposed to eggs – the delightful cheap(er) protein with a variety of cooking preparations that is good for me.

I’m fine not having cow milk for the rest of my life.  I found I like rice milk better so I was going to stick with it anyway.  But having it no longer be my choice kind of sucks.  And cheese… I love cheese.  Thankfully I can tolerate parmesan and a little mozzarella, but that’s about it.
I also love me my Ben & Jerry… they are the other men in my life.  I will miss them terribly.
I’m not wowed by soy, almond or other non-dairy “ice creams” and so they aren’t worth the calorie binge to me.
Arctic Zero however, basically costs me nothing for calories.  And if you’re in the mood for chocolate or just having the munchies and want to sit and spend a lot of time with a spoon digging into something, this is a healthy option and way more exciting that eating actual ice or sipping on water.  It can fulfill an old need that rears its ugly head now and again without any major damage to my day.
So last night when one of these moods hit me (I think lovely Aunt Flo is on her way) I was glad it was there.  As I spent more time eating it, it got better as it started getting more melted… creamier and less icy.  I think if I know I want it next time, I may just leave it out of the freezer for 10 minutes before I start eating it.

So although it’s not the best tasting thing I’ve ever had, its calories make it worth it and so I think Arctic Zero could be my new best friend.

From this mom on a mission, I give this product 2.5 out of 5 handprints.
Handprint rating 2.5

About gwenacious

Always a person in progress. On a mission of self-improvement and exploring my artistic side.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A review of Arctic Zero Frozen Desserts

  1. AtomicMelanie says:

    I’ve heard about this and seen mixed reviews. I will have to give it a try. Maybe it will soothe my chocolate cravings… especially when Auntie’s in town. Thanks!

    • gwenacious says:

      Well like I said, it isn’t the best tasting thing in the world, but it can fill a void and you can’t beat the calories… it’s that factor to me that makes it worth it.
      You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

