Juicing – Day 1 (again)

Can I say I actually missed juicing?  I had my first green drink this morning in over a year.  It tasted better than I remembered.  Maybe I’m not doing it as “hardcore” as others, but technically my drink was green.  Here’s my favorite mix:
1 apple
2 medium carrot sticks
2 large leaves of kale
1 large handful of spinach
1 kiwi
Serve over ice & drink with a straw

It made less than I planned, so I think I might add in 1 more apple or maybe another carrot stick with a little more spinach.

And before anyone says anything, yes I know I’m breaking rule #1 with juicing:  don’t mix veggies with fruit (with the exception of apples).
There is this rule because sometimes mixing the two can make for harder digestion on your stomach.  Well, I’m here to say that using 1-2 kiwis doesn’t cause any digestive issues, at least not for me and kiwi makes the drink FABULOUS.
I prefer masking the green veggies with the sweet.  Someday I want to make a homemade version of V8 and go savory, but I’ll stick to my sweet green drink for now.

And guess what I did?  Baby had her first green drink today too!  Hers was more on the sweeter end (kiwi, apple, spinach – no carrot as she has a reaction to it) and I kept the spinach low (and no kale) because she can have bad gassiness with the good-for-you veggies.  We’ll see how this goes.
And she liked it!  She took her first sip and didn’t even blink and kept drinking down.  There was a little that didn’t fit in her sippy cup so I tried it… yum!  Much sweeter than mine, but obviously not quite as nutritious.
Now if only I could convince my hubby & son to have a green drink.

On another note, I felt completely detached from my scale last night… meaning I suddenly didn’t feel so addicted to it and (at least for the moment) I DON’T CARE WHAT IT SAYS.

I am not juicing to lose weight nor am I going to think of any of my other healthier choices as just a method to lose weight.  Nope.  I am doing it to feel healthier – inside and out.  And to feel better about myself (let’s face it, if I’m eating well, drinking lots of water and managing some exercise, I mentally & emotionally feel better about myself).
Yes, I know that by making all these better choices, it should result in weight loss… how could it not?  But I’m going to try REALLY HARD not to focus on the weight so much anymore… at least for the immediate future.  (I will of course weigh-in a minimum of once a week – if only to track progress, but I have also measured myself all over as well.)
I once said that if I act and eat like a healthy, fit 165 lb woman, I will become her… slowly but surely.  Certainly there is no way such a lifestyle could maintain a 300+ lb body.

About gwenacious

Always a person in progress. On a mission of self-improvement and exploring my artistic side.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Juicing – Day 1 (again)

  1. Pingback: Juicing Day 2, Wasa bread & Braised Cucumbers | Person In Progress

Leave a Reply

