All About the Infant

So I’ve been mentally creating at least two blogs in my head, but do to the time constraints of mommyhood, they seem to stay in my head.  I’m actually sacrificing precious sleep time to type this one out.

I decided to separate my thoughts into this summary post of what’s been going on and a more in-depth post I’ll *eventually* get to.  Hubby is taking a couple days off in addition to the Monday holiday, so maybe I’ll get a chance sooner than later.

So what’s been going on with me?
Well I decided to postpone my losing 52 lbs in 52 weeks challenge because of breastfeeding diet issues.  This is a bummer, but I just don’t see a way around it right now.  I plan on breastfeeding until my baby girl is at least 6 months old, so that’s 26 weeks effected (more if you consider weaning time).
If by some miracle I figure out a way around my current issues and manage to start losing weight again, great.  Otherwise I’ll be waiting to get fully into making progress when I’m sans restrictions and my main goal is just at least maintain and not gain any more weight.  This is what my more comprehensive blog will be dealing with.

In related news, I’ve gained back more weight than I ever have since starting my weight loss journey back in Nov 2010.  Boo!   I even went a couple pounds over my conception weight.  In total I went up 19 lbs from the lowest weight I achieved postpartum.  Blurgh.  I’m currently up 17 lbs (but just 8 lbs up from this year’s/challenge’s start weight).  Obviously I’m not happy about this and reason for it will also be discussed more thoroughly in my next post.

Baby has seemed to have gotten back to a more nocturnal schedule again.  It really comes down to when she has to poop.  My entire life revolves around poop.  You never discuss bodily functions as much as when you have an infant/toddler/child.  My girl just finally took her poop tonight (or technically this morning) at 2am.  She can’t sleep “for the night” (right now that’s 4-6 hrs she averages) unless she’s gotten that out, so it’s a waiting game until it happens each day.

I get no “me time” without sacrificing something (usually sleep).  Normally this wouldn’t bug me as I have a beautiful precious baby girl filling my time, but my hubby seems to gripe if he can’t get in some gaming time (either Xbox or on his PC) after work.  Really?  When do I get that down time to myself?

I haven’t even been able to properly pluck my eyebrows since my baby’s birth and I shave in sections (just pits or pits & legs or pits & privates, but rarely all three) because shaving everything during my allotted baby-free shower time would take too long.
I’d love the chance to sit and blog without missing out on sleep, but here I am… my only opportunity.

I know he’s working, but he gets to sit at his desk for 8 hours at work and have adult conversations and not get backaches or arm aches from soothing a grumpy baby for hours during the day.  He’s not cleaning dirty diapers or mopping up after yet another spit up all day long.  And getting to nap when the baby naps isn’t some luxury – no, it’s needed from the lack of sleep they gave you in the first place – so I’m just piecing together maybe 5-6 hours of sleep in 2-3 sections if I’m lucky (but I make sure hubby’s sleep isn’t interrupted and he can get 6-8 hours depending when he goes to bed).  Tending to a baby is exhausting and having been through the experience of being a new mom and going back to work, I honestly miss the “break” a job provided.
I actually felt relief to hand my baby over to a professional and then go be a professional at something else myself.  Unless you have a very physically demanding job, being a stay at home mom is much harder.  I knew that then and I’m experiencing it now.

OK… gripe over.  My hubby does do an awesome job helping out and being a good dad when he is home… just that one issue is starting to get on my nerves.  Time will help this as each month passes my baby will become more independent and hopefully on a slightly better sleep schedule so I can get time to myself… after I’ve eaten, or pumped, or done the dishes, or laundry, or vacuumed, or fed the cats, or made and packed my son’s lunch for school, or helped my son with his homework, etc., etc., etc.
I don’t think it is physically possible for a mom with a kid or kids under the age of 10 to be bored… ever.  They may not want to do it, but there is ALWAYS something that needs to be done.

Oh, and I’m finally getting more social smiling from my girl instead of just gas-related smiles.  She doesn’t realize how much this saves her.  If babies weren’t so darn cute, they wouldn’t live to see their first year.  I mean that in the most loving way possible… only a new parent could understand.

 

I'm lucky I'm so cute when I smile.

I’m lucky I’m so cute when I smile.

 

About personinprogress

A 30-something woman on a mission of self-improvement and lifelong healthy habits. A new 365/50 Project starts Nov 15th 2016!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All About the Infant

  1. tlf says:

    HAHAHAHA! that last couple of lines are sooo true – I guess God made babies cute so we’d put up with the poop and the crying and the spit up. Especially yours – she’s adorable!

  2. Valerie says:

    As a breastfeeding mama, I know what you mean about putting weightloss efforts on hold. I am still nursing my 17 month old so I don’t restrict calories, but I exercise…the weight still doesn’t want to come off but there will always be time when he’s older. 😉
    Right now it’s poop and sleep deprivation and very little time to yourself – I KNOW how that feels! But definitely know it will all change and your darling girl will require less and less as she gets older. ❤
    If you are interested, I have a breastfeeding page with info, resources and encouragement: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/breastfeeding-rocks/ Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

