Looking Back… Mission Accomplished? So far…

It occurred to me today that it was about this time 2 years ago that my 365/100 Project (to lose 100 lbs in a year) was just finally getting somewhere.  Actually it was 15 days from now that I finally started going down from my start weight.
I was considering where I am now… 45 lbs (actually 47.4 lbs as of this morning) down from where I started and the biggest thing I am proud of?  With the exception of my pregnancy (that’s allowed), I’ve never had any significant weight re-gains for these past 2 years!  Isn’t that amazing?  I think it is seeming it is so common that people lose 10, 20 or 30 lbs and then plateau or get bored or fed up with whatever fad diet they have been doing and wham, that weight packs right back on and then some (trust me I know it’s easy to do – I’ve been there several times before).  According to statistics, that usually happens within 1 year.

Here I am over 2 years later and I’m maintaining or still losing weight.  How effing awesome is that?!?!
Truly a first for me and I am very pleased with myself.  It really lets me know that I’m finally doing it the right way… the true “lifestyle change” that people claim they are doing even when clearly they are utilizing a fad diet technique.  So far I’ve really accomplished what I set out to do in the first place.
Here is my proof:
I wrote the following on January 10, 2011:
…a journey of 1000 miles begins with 1 step, right?  …I feel like so many times I probably have made it 500 miles just to back track… I’ve probably gone 100,000 miles total at this point in my life.  Wouldn’t it just be easier to finish the 1000 miles and just stay there?  Yep.  That’s what I am aiming towards… that is the goal of this project… “

I aimed; I hit the bull’s eye.   I’ve done exactly what I wanted for myself as a result of that project and the “project” I continue on with today… all with a pregnancy in between.

It’s really good to have a reason to be proud of myself. 🙂
On another note, has anyone else been inspired by themselves?  Just by re-reading my posts starting in January 2 years ago, I’m totally re-lighting the fire under my butt… almost like I’m reading someone else’s blog for the first time.  Is that weird?  Does anyone else ever go back and read what they wrote, what they were doing, how they were doing, etc.?  I think they should.  I’m inspiring myself. 🙂

Off topic (and not that this matters to anyone but me)… it appears that my only time to blog during my “day” as a new mommy again is some time in the wee morning hours (1am-4am), so I will be pre-dating my posts to represent the day I’m actually referring to.  It’s the time I spend waiting to see if my now 5 week old is truly down for the night or if she’s just teasing me (I have to wait a minimum of 30 mins to an hour in order to know if she’s actually down for real).
I figure what’s the point of me getting all cozy in my bed if she’s going to start crying again 10 minutes later?  Just in the process of writing this blog I’ve run upstairs to her room 5 times (hey, that’s cardio!) because she’d spit out her binky or had another round of gas she was fussing over.  She’s way too young for the “cry it out” technique.
Obviously we’re in need of a better schedule, but believe it or not, this *is* an improvement from other days so far in her short existence!  At least she usually gives me a 5-6 hrs break after she finally goes down which means I can get at least 3- 4 hours of sleep.  So far, 4 consecutive hours is a record for the most sleep I’ve gotten since she was born (and that has only happened ONCE).
Yawn.  It’s amazing I function at all some days.

About gwenacious

Always a person in progress. On a mission of self-improvement and exploring my artistic side.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

